On the 22nd Anniversary of the Restoration of Independence, the President of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, H.E. José Ramos-Horta, presided over a prestigious National Honors Investiture Ceremony. This solemn event was held at the Nobre Presidential Palace in Dili on May 19th, 2024.

In recognition of their exceptional service and invaluable contributions toward nation-building and development, the Head of State bestowed the esteemed Order of Timor-Leste upon a total of 63 distinguished national and international recipients.

The Order of Timor-Leste was conferred in the following categories:

  • Collar: This highest-ranking honor was awarded to four eminent personalities from Timor-Leste and abroad for their outstanding contributions to the country’s progress.
  • Medal: Twelve engineering faculty members from the National University of Timor-Lorosa’e, twelve members of the Personal Security Detail with over two decades of selfless service, and two activists of the Black Brigade were decorated with the Medal for their role in the nation’s independence struggle.
  • Insignia: Eight members of the Timorese diaspora community were recognized with the Insignia for their activism in support of Timor-Leste.
  • Medal of Merit: This honor was conferred upon six health service professionals, fifteen sanitation workers with over two decades of loyal service since 2001, and four international advisors who provided expert counsel in legal, IT, and maritime sectors.

In his address, President Ramos-Horta paid tribute to the honorees, stating: “These exemplary Timorese and international friends have played pivotal roles in building our free, peaceful, and prosperous nation. Through their selfless dedication across diverse fields, they have immensely contributed to the progress of our young democracy. Timor-Leste proudly recognizes their service with these honors.”

The conferment of National Honors is the highest form of appreciation bestowed by the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste. It acknowledges exceptional services rendered by outstanding individuals for the benefit of the nation and its people.

Despite facing myriad challenges, Timor-Leste has achieved notable successes through the concerted efforts of the Holders of State Sovereignty Bodies, Members of the National Parliament, and successive Governments during their respective tenures.

This Presidential recognition stands as a symbol of profound gratitude to the honored recipients for their unwavering dedication and service toward the advancement of Timor-Leste.